Department of Physics

Dr. Steven Rwabona Katashaya
Head of Department

View Profile

The Department of Physics at Kabale University is under the Faculty of Science of the institution. The department currently has six academic staff members and one technician.  Recruitment now in progress (2022) will increase the academic staff complement to nine and technicians to two by 2023.

Currently, the department offers courses in general undergraduate Physics which are required by BSc General and BSc in Industrial and Applied Physics (BScIAP) both of which are housed in the Faculty of Science and BSc with Education (BScEd) offered by the Faculty of Education at the same institution.  The department also offers ‘A’-level Physics courses under the university’s Higher Education Bridging Certificate (HEBC) programme. Plans are underway to offer an MSc in Physics (a coursework and research degree) in 2023 and a Ph.D. by research in 2024.

The department’s research profile is based on Renewable Energy Systems, Environmental Physics, Astrophysics, and Electrical and Electronic Engineering Sciences and Applications.

Staff Members

Dr. Steven Rwabona Katashaya

Senior Lecturer
Ph.D, (Electrical Engineering Science); MSc. (Physics & Electronics); BSc. (Phy & Math); Dip. Datametrics View Profile

Dr. Habumugisha Isaac

PhD (Astrophysics); MSc. Physics; Post Gr. Dip. – Dev’t Studies (PPM); BSc. Educ. (Math & Physics); Certificates: Basics of Grant and Proposal writing; Research Writing in the Sciences, by INASP-UK(Author AID) View Profile

Dr. Kajumba Pamella Katalihwa

Assistant Lecturer
Ph.D. Physics ; PG Cert. Advanced Quantitative Data Analysis, Philosophy of methods, Scholarly writing, Solar systems design & applications; MSc. Renewable energy; BSc. (Physics) Phd(Physics-Student), MRET(MAK): View Profile

Habakwiha Vianney

Assistant Lecturer
Ph.D (Radiation Physics); MSc. Physics; BSc. Physics & Math, Dip. Educ.(Secondary) ITEK. View Profile

Robert Mugabe

Assistant Lecturer - Physics (Electronics)
MSc. (Physics with Electronics), Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST), (2017) BSc. Ed. (Physics and Mathematics), MUST, (2013) View Profile

Niwamanya Duncan

Assistant Lecturer (Physics)
Master of Science in Physics-(MUST); Bachelor of Science with Education (MUST) View Profile

Kakai Diana

Senior Assistant Technician (Physics)
Dip. Science Lab. Tech. View Profile

Contact Information

Email Address:
Phone Contacts: