University Senate



Prof. Joy C. Kwesiga
B.A (UEA), PGD PA (IPA), M.A Higher Education (London),
Ph.D. Higher Education (London)

Subject to the provisions of The Universities and Other Tertiary Institutions Amendment Act the Senate shall be responsible for the organization, control and direction of the academic matters of the University and as such the Senate shall be in charge of the teaching, research and the general standards of education and research and their assessment in the University.

Without prejudice to the generality of subsection above the Senate shall;

  • initiate the academic policy of the University and advise the University Council on the required facilities to implement the policy;
  • direct and regulate the instruction programme and the structure of any degree, diploma or certificate course within the University;
  • advise the University Council regarding the eligibility and qualifications of persons for admission to courses leading to the award of degree, diploma, certificate or other award of the University;
  • make regulations regarding the content and academic standard of any course of study in respect of a degree, diploma, or certificate or other wards.
  • make regulations regarding the standard of proficiency to be attained in each examination for a degree diploma, certificate or other award by the University.
  • decide which persons have reached the standard of proficiency and are fit for the award of any degree, diploma, certificate or other awards of the University.
  • advise the University Council on the promotion, coordination, control and general direction of research in the University.
  • consider and report to the University Council on any matter relating to, or in connection with the academic work of the University.

The Senate may deprive any person of a degree, diploma, certificate or other award of a Public University if after due inquiry it is found that the award was obtained through fraud or dishonourable or scandalous conduct.

A person deprived of an award under the subsection above may appeal to the University Council against the decision of the Senate.

The Senate may delegate any of its powers or functions to a faculty, school, board of studies or Committee as the Senate may consider fit.

Name Designation
Prof. Joy C. Kwesiga Vice Chancellor/Chairperson
Ms. Anny Katabaazi-Bwengye Deputy Vice Chancellor (Finance & Administration)
Prof. James K Tumwine Dean, School of Medicine
Assoc. Prof. Caleb Tamwesigire Dean,  Faculty of Economics and Management Sciences
Assoc. Prof. Wilson Bamwerinde Dean, Faculty of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences
Assoc Prof. Katusiimeh Mesharch. Walto Dean, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences
Dr. Damian Kajunguri Dean, Faculty of Science
Dr. Francis Akena Adyanga Dean, Faculty of Education
Assoc Prof. Businge Phelix Mbabazi Dean, Faculty of Computing, Library and Information Science
Assoc. Prof. Moses Nduhira Twesigye-omwe Dean, Faculty of Engineering, Technology, Applied Design and Fine Art
Assoc. Prof. Denis Sekiwu Director, Directorate of Postgraduate Training
Prof. Natal Ayiga Director, Directorate of Research and Publications
Dr. Majariwa David Director, Institute of Language Studies
Prof. Kaaya Siraje Representative, Faculty of Economics and Management Sciences
Prof. John C Lule Representative, School of Medicine (KABSOM)
Prof. Edward Bantu Representative, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences
Dr. Fiona Mutekanga Representative, Faculty of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences
Dr. Bernard Bazirake Bamuhiiga University Librarian
Gad Twesigye University Bursar
Tukamushaba Amos Dean of Students
Baryantuma Johnson Munono University Secretary
Canon Benon Freddie Kwikiriza Administrative Staff Representative
Tindyebwa Peace Tushabomwe Administrative Staff Representative
Tayebwa Derrick Student Representative (Minister of Education)
Kyatuhaire Merron Student Representative (GRC)
Canon Henry Turyagyenda Government Representative
Herbert Baryayebwa Government Representative
Benjamin Turyahikayo Government Representative
Tibenderana Narcicir Academic Registrar/ Secretary

Search Kabale University