Academic Calendar

THE ACADEMIC CALENDAR, YEAR  2018/2019

DATE (S) Activity/Meeting
SEMESTER ONE  
Saturday, 4th August 2018 Fresh students report
6th to 11th August 2018 Orientation for fresh students
Saturday, 11th August 2018 Continuing students report
Monday,  13th August 2018 Semester One Lectures begin
Wednesday, 15th August 2018 Quality Assurance Committee Meeting
Thursday, 16th August 2018 Senate Meeting
Friday, 17th August 2018 ICT and Library Services Committee Meeting
Thursday, 23rd August 2018 Honorary Awards Committee Meeting
Friday, 24th August 2018 Ceremonies Committee Meeting
Saturday, 25th August 2018 In-service students report for  First Face-to-face
Monday, 27th August 2018 In-service Lectures Begin
Wednesday, 29th August 2018 Postgraduate Training Committee meeting
Friday, 31st August 2018 Administration of 1st Coursework
Tuesday, 4th September 2018 Research and Publications Committee Meeting
Thursday, 6th September 2018 Honorary Awards Committee Meeting
Friday, 7th September 2018 Ceremonies Committee Meeting
Thurs., 13th September 2018 Faculty Meeting (Education)
Saturday, 15th September 2018 In-service Face-to-face ends
Tuesday, 18th September 2018 Faculty Meeting (Arts and Social Sciences)
Wed, 19th September 2018 Faculty Meeting (KABSOM)
Thurs., 20th September 2018 Faculty Meeting (Languages)
Friday, 21st September 2018 Administration of 2nd Coursework
Tuesday, 25th September 2018 Postgraduate Training Committee meeting
Wed, 26th September 2018 Faculty Meeting (Engineering)
Friday, 28th September 2018 Senate Meeting
Tuesday, 2nd October 2018 Research and Publications Committee Meeting
Thursday, 4th October 2018 Honorary Awards Committee Meeting
Friday, 5th October 2018 Ceremonies Committee Meeting
Thursday, 11th October 2018 Senate Meeting
Friday, 12th October 2018 Administration of 3rd Coursework
Thursday, 18th October 2018 Quality Assurance Committee Meeting
Friday, 19th October 2018 Postgraduate Training Committee meeting
Friday, 26th October 2018 3rd graduation ceremony (as a public University)
Thursday, 1st November 2018 Research and Publications Committee Meeting
Friday, 2nd November 2018 1.      Ceremonies Committee Meeting

2.      Administration of 4th Coursework

Tuesday, 6th November 2018 Quality Assurance Workshop
Wed, 7th November 2018 1.     Deadline for submission of coursework marks

2.     Senate meeting

Thursday, 8th November 2018 Faculty Meeting (Education /Languages)
Friday, 9th November 2018 Faculty Meeting (Arts and Social Sciences)
Monday, 12th November 2018 Student evaluation of staff/programmes begins
Tuesday, 13th November 2018 Faculty Meeting (KABSOM)
Wed, 14th November 2018 Faculty Meeting (Science, Engineering, FOCLIS)
Thurs., 15th November 2018 Student evaluation of staff/programmes ends
Friday, 16th November 2018 Examination Committee Meeting
Monday, 19th November 2018 Faculties/Institutes submit vetted examination papers to Academic Registrar’s office
Friday, 23rd November 2018 End of semester one examinations begin
Tuesday, 4th December 2018 Postgraduate Training Committee meeting
Thursday, 6th December 2018 Research and Publications Committee Meeting
Friday, 7th December 2018 End of semester one examinations end
Saturday, 8th December 2018 1.      Regular Students Begin Holidays

2.      In-service students report for Examination Session

Monday, 10th December 2018, In-service Examinations begin
Sunday, 15th December 2018 In-service examinations end
Wednesday, 18th Dec 2018 ICT and Library Services Committee
Saturday, 21st December 2018 Christmas break begins
Saturday, 5th January 2019 In-service Students Report for 2nd Face-to-Face Session
Sunday, 6th January 2019 Christmas break ends
Monday, 7th January 2019 1.     The University opens

2.     In-service Lectures begin

Tuesday, 8th January 2019 Research and Publications Meeting
Wednesday, 9th January 2019 Central examination marking begins
Thursday, 10th January 2019 Senate Meeting
Wednesday, 16th January 2019 Postgraduate Training Meeting
Wednesday, 23rd January 2019 Central Examination marking ends
Friday, 25th January 2019 Faculty/Institute examiners’ board meetings
Monday, 28th January 2019 Submission of examination results to the Academic Registrar’s Office
Tuesday, 29th January 2019 Examination Committee Meeting
Wednesday, 31st January 2019 Quality Assurance Committee Meeting
Thursday, 1st February 2019 ICT and Library Services Committee Meeting
SEMESTER TWO  
Saturday, 2nd February 2019 1.     In-service Face-to-face Session Ends

2.     Regular Students report for Semester Two

Monday, 4th February 2019 Semester Two Lectures begin
Tuesday, 5th February 2019 Research and Publications Committee Meeting
Wednesday, 6th February 2019 Senate Meeting (to Consider Examination Results)
Friday, 8th February 2019 Publication of end of semester one examination results
Monday, 11th February 2019 Faculty Meeting (Science, Engineering, FOCLIS)
Tuesday, 12th February 2019 Faculty Meeting (KABSOM & Arts and Social Sciences)
Wed, 13th February 2019 Faculty Meeting (Education and Languages)
Friday, 15th February 2019 Research Seminar (Education and Languages)
Saturday, 23rd February 2019 Research Seminar (Science, Engineering, FOCLIS)
Tuesday, 26th February 2019 Postgraduate Training Committee meeting
Friday, 1st March 2019 Administration of 1st Coursework
Saturday, 2nd March 2019 Research Seminar (Arts and Social Sciences)
Tuesday, 5th March 2019 Research and Publications Committee Meeting
Wednesday, 6th March 2019 Senate Meeting
Saturday, 9th March 2019 Research Seminar (KABSOM)
Tuesday, 12th March 2019 Faculty Meeting (Arts and Social Sciences)
Wednesday, 13th March 2019 Faculty Meeting (KABSOM)
Thursday, 14th March 2019 Faculty Meeting (Languages)
Friday, 15th March 2019 Faculty Meeting (Science, Engineering, FOCLIS)
Wednesday, 20th March 2019 Faculty Meeting (Education)
Friday, 23rd March 2019 Administration of 2nd Coursework
Thursday, 21st March 2019 Quality Assurance Committee Meeting
Friday, 22nd March 2019 Annual Open Day
Wednesday, 27th March 2019 Postgraduate Training Committee meeting
Wednesday, 3rd April 2019 Research and Publications Committee Meeting
Wednesday, 10th April 2019 Senate Meeting
Friday, 12th April 2019 Administration of 3rd Coursework
Thursday, 18th April 2019 Quality Assurance Workshop
Friday, 19th April 2019 Easter Break begins
Monday, 22nd April 2019 Easter Break ends
Wednesday, 24th April 2019 Postgraduate Training Committee meeting
Thursday, 25th April 2019 1st Admissions Committee Meeting
Friday, 26th April 2019 Administration of 4th Coursework
Thursday, 2nd May 2019 Research and Publications Committee Meeting
Friday, 3rd May 2019 Deadline for Submission of coursework marks
Saturday, 4th May 2019 In-service Examinations Begin
Monday, 6th May 2019 Student evaluation of staff/programmes begins
Tuesday, 7th May 2019, Faculty Meeting (Education and Languages)
Wednesday, 8th May 2019 Faculty Meeting (Science, Engineering, FOCLIS)
Thursday, 9th May 2019 Quality Assurance Committee Meeting
Friday, 10th May 2019 1.     Faculties submit vetted examination papers to the Academic Registrar’s Office

2.     Student evaluation of staff/programmes ends

Saturday, 11th May 2019 In-service Examinations End
Tuesday, 14th May 2019, Faculty Meeting (Arts and Social Sciences & KABSOM)
Wednesday, 15th May 2019 Examination Committee
Friday, 17th May 2019 End of semester two examinations begin
Tuesday, 21st May 2019 Fieldwork/Internship/Industrial Training/School Practice Colloquia
Wednesday, 22nd May 2019 Senate meeting
Friday, 24th May 2019 Admissions Committee Meeting
Wednesday, 29th May 2019 Postgraduate Training Committee meeting
Friday, 31st May 2019 Semester Two Examinations end
Saturday, 1st June 2019 1.      Regular Students begin Holidays

2.      Internship/Industrial Training/Fieldwork/Field trips/School Practice begin

Tuesday, 4th June 2019 Research and Publications Committee Meeting
Wednesday, 5th June 2019 Central examination marking begins
Thursday, 6th June 2019 End of semester two examinations end
Thursday, 13th June 2019 ICT and Library Services Committee Meeting
Wednesday, 19th June 2019 2nd Admissions Committee Meeting
Friday, 21st June 2019 Central examination marking ends
Tuesday, 25th June 2019 Faculty/Institute examiners board meeting
Thursday, 27th June 2019 Examination Committee Meeting
Friday, 5th July 2019 1.    ICT and Library Services Committee Meeting

2.    Submission of examination results to the Academic Registrar

Tuesday, 9th July 2019 Publication of semester two examination results
Friday, 12th July 2019 3rd Admissions Committee Meeting
Friday, 26th July 2019 Internship/Fieldwork/Field trips/ recess term/School practice end